The A-Shape Stakes!

We’re delighted to announce that the ZED RUN tournament train is rolling on, and we’ve got another exciting format to trial – The A-Shape Stakes!

The A-Shape Stakes offers another prize pool of over $100,000 USD, and trials another new points structure!

We want to highlight those racehorses that love to finish middle of the pack. The ones that cruise along, not quite fast enough to win but not quite slow enough to lose. Do you have a racehorse that loves finishing 6th or 7th? Perhaps this is the tournament for you!

Here is a look at some of the key details for The A-Shape Stakes. As always, the full information can be found in our ZED RUN Guide.

Tournament Structure

Once the Qualifying Period ends, The A-Shape Stakes splits into two (2) different tournaments that will include the top 1,152 racehorses:

  • Tournament A comprises racehorses ranked 1 to 576 at the end of the qualifying period
  • Tournament B comprises racehorses ranked 577 to 1,152 at the end of the qualifying period

Tournament A and Tournament B have identical structures to one another and will both be run during the same one-day Finals event.

Tournament Schedule

The tournament is scheduled to begin on the 8th December 2021 at 12 AM. All times are in UTC.

EventStart DateStart TimeEnd DateEnd Time
Qualifying Period8 Dec 202112 AM15 Dec 202112 AM
Quarter Finals (B)15 Dec 20219 AM15 Dec 20211 PM
Quarter Finals (A)15 Dec 20211 PM15 Dec 20215 pm
Semi Finals (B)15 Dec 20216 PM15 Dec 20217 PM
Semi Finals (A)15 Dec 20217 PM15 Dec 20218 PM
Finals (B)15 Dec 20218:30 PM15 Dec 20218:45 PM
Finals (A)15 Dec 20218:45 PM15 Dec 20219 PM
Grand Final (B)15 Dec 202110 PM15 Dec 202111 PM
Grand Final (A)15 Dec 202111 PM16 Dec 202112 AM

IMPORTANT! While stamina acts as normal during the qualifying period, The A-Shape Stakes finals events will not take stamina into account, so you can race your racehorse right up to the end of the Qualifying Period and do not have to worry about it not returning to full stamina before the Quarter Finals begin. Please note, your racehorse’s stamina % may still decrease, but stamina will not affect the races.

Prize Pool

Every tournament offers a prize pool, giving every qualified racehorse a chance to win. For The A-Shape Stakes, the Qualifying Period will result in two tournament finals: Tournament A and Tournament B, each with its own prize pool as shown below.

  • Tournament A – $73,733 USD
  • Tournament B – $31,600 USD

The distribution of the total A-Shape Stakes prize pools is broken down as follows, but may be subject to change in the future:

RoundParticipantsRacesPrize Pool Allocation
Grand Final121*13%
Semi Finals1441223%
Quarter Finals5764845%

*Note: The Grand Final of both Tournament A and Tournament B consists of 6 races across different distances, where the racehorse with the most total points is crowned Champion.

Each race within the two tournament schedules encompasses a portion of the total prize pool on offer and is distributed to 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place racehorses as follows:

Position Within RacePrize Pool Allocation

A detailed breakdown of The A-Shape Stakes can be found on the Tournament page of the ZED RUN Guide.

Join the Fun ūüźé

Head over to ZED RUN to buy your very own digital racehorse and join one of our fast-growing social channels below.