Racing Classes

Racing Classes in ZED RUN consist of six (6) Classes, with class brining increased competitions and bigger prize pools to race for.

Class Base Rating
Griffin Un-raced
Class 5 0 – 20
Class 4 21 – 40
Class 3 41 – 60
Class 2 61 – 80
Class 1 81 +

Class 1 is the highest rated Class in ZED RUN, with Class 5 being the lowest.

How Classes Will Work

All un-raced racehorses will begin as a Griffin classed racehorse. Each un-raced racehorse will have a base rating linked to its genotype as shown below:

Genotype Base Rating
Z1 to Z4 57
Z5 to Z9 37
Z10 + 17

The reason for this is to group racehorses with similar abilities after their inaugural Griffin race.

The base rating will be applied to all racehorses in the ecosystem including existing racehorses.

It is important to understand that the Griffin Class acts as an entry point or, as a grading race, to see how your racehorse performs.

All un-raced racehorses will be determined as Griffin Class. Griffin Class racehorses can only compete in Griffin Class races.

Once your racehorse competes in a Griffin Class race, it will be allocated into Class 2, Class 3, Class 4 or Class 5 depending on its performance in its first race.

Class Progression and Regression

Every racehorse will begin with a base rating of 1737 or 57 as outlined in the previous section of this blog. After each race, a racehorse will be awarded the following points based on its finishing position which will be added to its base rating.

Finishing Position Point Awarded Finishing Position Point Awarded
1st + 4 7th 0
2nd + 3 8th 0
3rd + 2 9th – 1
4th + 1 10th – 2
5th 0 11th – 3
6th 0 12th – 4

After every race, a racehorse can either regress into a lower tier Class, stay in the same Class or progress into a higher tier Class.

For example, if you own an un-raced Z4 racehorse (Griffin Class) and it finishes in first place, its post class rating will be 61 (57 + 4), thereby starting in Class 2.

It is important to note that a racehorse can compete in higher tiered Classes outside of its current Class, however it cannot compete in a lower tiered Class. For example, a Class 3 racehorse can compete in Class 3, Class 2 and Class 1 races, however it cannot compete in Class 4 or Class 5 races.

Which Racehorses are Eligible

On the Race Events page, we have added Race Class filters as well as an additional column to identify the Class of any given race.

To see what races your racehorse(s) are eligible to compete in, simply click on any free gate number so that the select a racehorse modal/pop-up appears. Within this modal, you will notice that ineligible racehorses will be greyed out.


If you are entering into a race Class that is above your racehorses’s current Class, a warning (!) icon will appear if you are entering a lower Class racehorse into a higher classed race (i.e. you are entering a Class 2 racehorse into a Class 1 race).